Govt. forms taskforce to reform physical infrastructure and transport

The government on Thursday formed a six-member high-level taskforce to resolve the entire issues prevailing in the country’s physical infrastructure and transport sector.

Through a minister-level decision, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport Narayan Kaji Shrestha constituted the taskforce led by Prof Dr Rajendra Prasad Adhikari.

Former secretary Purna Chandra Bhattarai, Ram Krishna Sapkota, Hari Basyal and thematic expert Dr Lina Gurung are the members of the taskforce.

Senior Engineer of the ministry, Arjun Prasad Aryal, is named as the member-secretary of the taskforce.

The taskforce is given a month-long time to make recommendations to bring about reforms in road infrastructure, road bridge, railway service, transport and engineering service management.

Deputy Prime Minister Shrestha’s Secretariat said that the taskforce is mandated to make recommendations for ensuring prompt, effective and good-governance-friendly service delivery while controlling corruption, irregularities, cartel and leakage.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × four =