Koshraj Regmi Memorial National Award to RSS Chairperson Jha

The Koshraj Regmi Memorial National Journalism Award has been presented to RSS Executive Chairperson Dharmendra Jha.

The Award was conferred to Chairperson Jha amid a programme organized by Pitambar Khileshwori Memorial Academy and Federation of Nepalese Journalists (FNJ) Morang chapter at Biratnagar today.

Koshi Province Chief Parshuram Khapung presented the Award to Chair Jha in recognition of his long-standing contributions to journalism sector. The award carries a purse of Rs 25,000.

RSS Chairperson Jha is also the former President of FNJ.

On the occasion, Province Chief Khapung emphasized on dissemination of truthful and information-based news for the development and welfare of society and country.

He acknowledged that the role of mass media is important to maintain ethnic and religious harmony.

Similarly, RSS Chairperson Jha regretted that the development of journalism ought to be in tune with the ever evolving technology but it was not the case.

Stating that the role of journalism was important in participatory democracy, he called for more investment from the State for the development of journalism sector.

Koshraj Regmi Memorial National Journalism Award is being provided since 2045 BS marking the birth anniversary of ”youth poet” Motiram Bhatta. Bhatta was born on the Kushe Aaushi in the Nepali month of Bhadra according to lunar calendar, which fell on September 14, Thursday, this year.

The Award was presented today as the government had given public holiday on Thursday to mourn the passing of Constituent Assembly Chairperson, Subas Nembang, according to the FNJ. (RSS)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *