Nepal and India Signs Seven agreements – Here’s What You Need to Know

Nepal and India, in a display of strengthened bilateral relations, have signed seven agreements aimed at enhancing cooperation across various sectors, including trade and energy.

The agreements were formalized following a productive bilateral meeting held at Hyderabad House in New Delhi. During a joint press conference, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the signing of multiple Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) and agreements.

One of the key agreements was an MoU aimed at expanding trade and transit, as well as facilitating the construction of the Siliguri-Jhapa Petroleum Pipeline.

Additionally, both Prime Ministers jointly laid the foundation for the construction of the Sunauli Bhairahawa Integrated Checkpost, which signifies a significant step forward in streamlining cross-border operations.

Furthermore, the inauguration of the Nepalgunj-Rupadia Integrated Checkpost, accompanied by the Bathana-Biratnagar Cargo Train, showcases the commitment to bolstering efficient border trade and connectivity.

To strengthen the energy sector, the two countries signed a long-term power agreement and agreed to collaborate on the construction of the Pukhot-Karnali Hydropower Project. Moreover, an agreement was reached for the construction of the Lower Arun Hydropower Project, supported by Indian investment.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *