Pre-election five-party alliance reviving again

The current power coalition is going to collapse and the old pre-election five-party alliance is all ready to revive again as the consensus has not reached yet among the present coalition partners regarding the Presidential election.

UML Chair KP Oli has remained firm in his stance that his party’s candidate should be elected the next President, something that was reportedly agreed with Dahal on December 25, when UML supported his prime ministerial bid.

“Even during Wednesday’s meeting with PM Dahal, our party chair stressed that a UML candidate should be elected President,” according to sources close to Oli.

Due to the lack of consensus between the ruling coalition UML and the Maoist Centre on the issue of presidential election, the alliance with the Congress, Maoists, and CPN-Unified Socialist is going to re-aligned again .

Leaders of political parties have intensified discussions to settle on a consensus candidate for the post of the country’s President.

Nepali Congress (NC) and Maoist Centre’s leaders on Wednesday had agreed to “revive” the five-party pre-election alliance and elect a consensual candidate as the country’s President.

Prime Minister Dahal also held talks with Unified Socialist Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal on Wednesday.

Similarly, Nepali Congress leaders also held a discussion with leaders of the Unified Socialist Party and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party on Wednesday itself.

The ruling Maoist Centre held a discussion with Unified Socialist Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal today. Maoist will also hold separate discussions with Nepali Congress, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) today and is scheduled to hold a joint meeting of the former five-party ruling alliance on Thursday evening to reach an understanding.

The five-party alliance broke up on 25th December due to the dispute over who will be the Prime Minister between Congress Chairman Sher Bahadur Deuba and Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal. After the UML agreed to make Dahal the prime minister, a new coalition was formed, in which the Rashtriya Swatantra Party, RPP, Janata Samajwadi, Janmat, and JSP also participated.

The election for President is scheduled for March 9.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven + eight =