Presidential election: Chaudhary’s name registered in voter list

Name of Arun Kumar Chaudhary, the member in the House of Representatives (HoR), has been registered in the voter list for the election of the President.

According to the Office of Election Officer established in view of the Presidential election scheduled for upcoming March 9, Chaudhary’s name was registered in the voter list based on an application for the same.

Police on February 2 arrested the lawmaker from the Nagarik Unmukti Party over a tractor arson case in which he was convicted in 2013 and handed imprisonment of six months and a fine.  He was suspended following the arrest.

Chaudhary was released on Sunday after the President pardoned him on the occasion of the National Democracy Day 2023. Following his release, his HoR membership was restored.

Similarly, the Office made corrections of details of HoR member Sangita Mandal Dhanuk, National Assembly member Durga Kumari Gurung and Province Assembly members Saraswoti Khadka and Sanju Kumar Chaudhary, according to assistant election officer Amrita Kumari Sharma.

The day for registering nominations of candidacies in view of the election has been fixed for tomorrow, Saturday. The schedule has been fixed from 10 am to 3 pm.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × 1 =