Presidential election: Top leaders of the alliance including Prime Minister votes

Top leaders of the alliance including Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal have voted in the presidential election underway at the Parliament Building in New Baneshwor.

Prime Minister Prachanda, Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN Unified Socialist Party Chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal and other top leaders of the alliance have already voted.

Both the presidential candidates Ramchandra Poudel and Subash Chandra Nembang have also already cast their votes in the election.

Election Officer Mahesh Sharma says his office plans to count the votes as soon as voting is over and announce the final results at 7 pm tomorrow. Lawmakers have been requested to vote between 10 am and 3 pm.

Different ballot booths have been set up for federal and provincial lawmakers.

The voting that began at 10 am will run till 3pm today.

Ram Chandra Paudel and Subas Chandra Nembang–representing Nepali Congress and CPN-UML parties respectively–are contesting for the post.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − twelve =