T20 WC: New Zealand won the toss, opt to bat against Sri Lanka

In the 27th Match of Group 1 of ICC T20 World Cup 2022, New Zealand is playing against Sri Lanka on Saturday.

New Zealand have won the toss and opted to bat first against Sri Lanka.

The match has just started at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

The weather for the match looks perfect with sun shining bright in Sydney. A full 40-over game is expected for the lone T20 World Cup contest on today.

New Zealand have one win from two after defeating Australia and then having their fixture against Afghanistan washed out.

Sri Lanka have one win and one loss after thrashing Ireland by nine-wickets before falling to Australia after a Marcus Stoinis onslaught.

A win for New Zealand would go a long way to ensuring semi-final qualification, whilst a Sri Lanka victory would throw the group open even further with every side having suffered defeat.


New Zealand: Devon Conway (wk), Finn Allen, Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *