T20 World Cup : Pakistan vs England final tomorrow

Babar Azam’s Pakistan and Jos Buttler’s England will take on each other in the final of the T20 World Cup 2022 at the iconic MCG stadium on Sunday (November 13).

The match is expected to be a nail-biting contest as these two sides have raised their game in the middle of the tournament and looked to have found the best playing XI.

Both Pakistan and England had a scratchy start to the tournament. Pakistan, in fact, lost both their first two matches against India and Zimbabwe respectively.

They were on the edge of an early knockout but they were helped tremendously by other results going in their favor. Like when the Netherlands beat South Africa, their chances for the semi-finals came alive and Pakistan latched on to that opportunity with both hands. After those two early blows, they brought back their campaign on track and never looked back.

Pakistan is going to play the final for the first time since the 2009 World Cup. It had lifted the World Cup trophy by defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in 2009.

Now, it is the opportunity for Pakistan to win the T20 World Cup title again after 13 years.

England too, after winning their first match against Afghanistan, lost to Ireland in a rain-marred match. Then their game vs Australia was washed out. From thereon, every match that they played was a virtual knockout and that sort of pushed the English team to do well. They beat New Zealand and Sri Lanka next to ensure they reached the semi-finals where they absolutely thrashed the Indian cricket team, inflicting a 10-wicket loss at them to set up a mouth-watering encounter against Pakistan in the big final.

The only worry for both the teams and the various stakeholders in the game will be the weather and how will it play out on Sunday as Melbourne is expected to receive rainfall on match day.

Probable Playing XIs for PAK vs ENG
Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi

Jos Buttler (c & wk), Alex Hales, Philip Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *