Chandra Gurung Clinches Best Coach Award at Pulsar Sports Award 2024

In a celebration of athletic prowess and sporting achievements, Chandra Gurung emerged triumphant, securing the prestigious Best Coach Award at the Pulsar Sports Award 2024. The 20th edition of the esteemed ceremony, hosted by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum, witnessed Gurung’s exceptional coaching skills being honored among a competitive field of contenders.

Gurung’s coaching acumen stood out as he surpassed fellow coaches Deepak Maharjan of boxing and Jagat Tamata of cricket to claim the coveted award. Renowned for his contributions to athletics, Gurung played an instrumental role in Nepal’s triumphs at the 16th Asian Cross-Country Championship, where the nation clinched two gold medals under his guidance. Additionally, Nepal achieved commendable success in a marathon held in Bangladesh, securing one gold medal and two bronze medals, further solidifying Gurung’s reputation as a coach par excellence.

The ceremony also witnessed the recognition of Rajendra Kumar Pradhan, the first Olympian weightlifter of Nepal, who was bestowed with the prestigious ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ in acknowledgment of his remarkable 55-year-long dedication to the weightlifting sector.

Celebrating outstanding athletic performance, Dev Khanal of cricket was honored with the coveted title of ‘Best Player of the Year’. Khanal’s leadership propelled Nepal to glory in the ICC U-19 Championship, marking a triumphant return to the tournament after an eight-year hiatus. The team’s victory in the Asian regional qualifier championship under Khanal’s captaincy underscored his exceptional leadership skills and sporting prowess.

Sudarshan Ranjit, a distinguished sports journalist hailing from Pokhara, was recognized with the Special Award for his invaluable contributions to sports photojournalism spanning four decades.

Moreover, Rajpura Pachai was lauded with the esteemed ‘Best Female Sportsperson Award’ for her outstanding achievements in medium and long-distance running, including securing two silver medals in the Asian Cross-Country Women 10 km marathon.

Deepak Adhikari of athletics was honored with the prestigious ‘Best Male Sports Person Award’, while table tennis sensation Sikka Subal Shrestha clinched the coveted ‘People’s Choice Award’. Para Olympian athlete Maiya Bishankhu was conferred with the esteemed Para Athlete Honour in recognition of her stellar performance, including clinching a gold medal in 2006.

The ceremony also extended accolades to Raymond Chu from Hong Kong, who received the Asian Sports Journalists Award for his significant contributions as President of the Hong Kong Sports Press Association and chief mentor of a program under the Association of International Sports Journalists (AIPS).

Each recipient in the categories of Best Female, Male, People’s Choice, Best Coach, and Best Youth Sportsperson was presented with a Pulsar bike, while winners in other categories received a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each.

The Pulsar Sports Award 2024 served as a platform to honor exemplary talent, dedication, and contribution to the realm of sports, inspiring athletes and coaches to strive for excellence and uphold the spirit of sportsmanship.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *