Nepal Clinches SMS Friendship Cup T20 Title with Convincing Win Over Gujarat

In a thrilling finale at the SMS Friendship Cup T20 match, Nepal emerged victorious, sealing the title with an 18-run triumph over Gujarat. The match, filled with breathtaking performances, showcased Nepal’s resilience and skill in the T20 format.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Nepal set a formidable target of 177 runs for Gujarat, displaying a remarkable batting display. Captain Rohit Paudel led from the front with a sensational knock of 74 runs off 47 deliveries, comprising five boundaries and four towering sixes. Opener Asif Sheikh provided a solid foundation with his 34 off 34 balls, while Kushal Bhurtel and Dipendra Singh Airee contributed valuable runs to steer Nepal to a competitive total of 176 runs for the loss of four wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

In pursuit of the target, Gujarat fought valiantly but fell short as Nepal’s bowlers kept a tight leash on their scoring rate. Despite notable efforts from Gujarat’s batsmen, including Umang Rohit Kumar’s spirited 40 off 28 balls and Arya Desai’s brisk 36 off 24 deliveries, they could only manage to reach 158 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Nepal’s bowling attack, led by Abhinash Bohara’s impressive spell of 3 wickets for 26 runs and Dipendra Singh Airee’s economical 2 wickets for 13 runs, restricted Gujarat’s chase and secured the victory for Nepal.

Kushal Malla and Karan KC also made crucial contributions with the ball, claiming one wicket each to dismantle Gujarat’s batting lineup. With this emphatic win, Nepal showcased their dominance in the T20 format and lifted the SMS Friendship Cup T20 title, much to the delight of their fans across the nation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *