PM Prachanda expands Cabinet; inducts 1 more DPM, 11 ministers

Prime Minister (PM) Pushpa Kamal Dahal expanded the Council of Ministers today (Friday) inducting 11 ministers.

Nepali Congress (NC), the major partner in the ruling coalition, has got 8 ministries. However, it has sent only four names as minister due to conflict within the party.

Likewise, the Maoist Center garnered 5 ministers, Janata Samajwadi Party and Unified Samajwadi 2 ministries each, and Nagarik Unmukti Party, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, Nepal Samajwadi Party, and Aam Janata Party one ministry each.

JSP also sent only one name as minister due to conflict within the party.

Who are the ministers from which party ?

Nepali Congress

Purna Bahadur Khadka- Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defense
Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat- Minister for Finance
Ramesh Rijal- Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies
Sita Gurung- Minister for Urban Development

Maoist Centre
Narayan Kaji Shrestha- Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs
Shakti Basnet- Minister of Energy
Rekha Sharma- Minister of Communications
Sudan Kiranti- Minister of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
Amanlal Modi- Minister of General Administration

Janata Samajwadi Party
Ashok Rai – Minister for Education

CPN (Unified Socialist)
Bedu Ram Bhusal- Minister for Agriculture
Prakash Jwala- Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport

Loktatrik Samajwadi Party
Sarat Singh Bhandari- Minister of Labor and Employment

Nagarik Unmukti Party
Ranjita Shrestha- Minister of Land Management

Nepal Samajwadi Party
Mahindra Raya Yadav- Minister of Women, Children and Senior Citizens

The PM has kept five Cabinet portfolios – youth and sports, forest and environment, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Health and Population and Foreign Affairs.

Earlier this month, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ won the second-floor test and received a confidence vote in Parliament. In the House of Representatives, which has 275 members, Prime Minister Prachanda won 172 votes. One legislator abstained, and 89 others voted against him.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *