Election Observation by International Election Observers

International Election Observers have supervised the polling centers of Kathmandu Valley (Kathmandu, Lalitpur, and Bhaktapur) today.

Forty-six organizations, including two foreign ones, were mobilized for the observation of the House of Representatives (HoR) and Provincial Assembly Member elections on November 20.

The representatives of the election commissions of six countries: India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Sri Lanka, and South Korea observed the election today.

A delegation from India including India’s Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar supervised the elections in Nepal. Similarly, officials led by Chief Election Commissioner of Bangladesh Kazi Habibul Awal, Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan, Sonam Topge, and Chairperson of the Elections Commission of the Maldives (ECM) Fuwad Thofik supervised the elections in Nepal.

Two election commissioners from Sri Lanka – MM Mohammad and SB Devaratne – and a team led by Election Commissioner Kim Chng-bo from South Korea also supervised the election in Nepal.

Section 6 of the Election Commission Act provides for any national and foreign individuals and organizations to make observations of election-related works and activities.

The individuals and organizations involved in the supervision had supervised the election’s legality, independence, fairness, neutrality, equality, etc. A separate code of conduct was prescribed for supervisory organizations and individuals.

There is a provision that the organization that has received the supervision permission is required to submit to the Election Commission a report on the election observation within three days of completion of the observation. They are also required to submit to the Commission within 30 days the details of the income and expenditure in course of the election observation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *