EC completed preparations for the vice-presidential election

The Election Commission has completed all the preparations for the vice-presidential election taking place on Friday.

The voting process for the election of vice-president is scheduled at the Federal Parliament Building from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm on March 17, according to the Office of the Election Officer. Lhotse Hall of the Federal Parliament Building has been set as the voting centre.

Assistant Election Officer Amrita Kumari Sharma said, “All the preparations for the election have been completed. Ballot papers have already reached the voting centre.”

An arrangement of separate voting centres has been made for the members of the Federal Parliament and provincial assemblies.

Sharma shared that members of the Federal Parliament would cast their votes entering from the main gate of the Parliament Building while PA members will have to enter from the green gate towards the garden.

The Election Commission has made arrangements of two-types of ballot papers for the Vice-Presidential Election-2079. The ballot papers have been printed with red ink for the purpose of voting by the members of the Federal Parliament and green ink for the purpose of voting by PA members.

The names and photos of the candidates have been printed in the ballot papers.  Four candidates– Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara), Pramila Kumari Yadav, Mamata Jha and Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav are contesting the vice-presidential election.

Members of the Federal Parliament and PA members are the voters in the vice-presidential election. The weightage of a vote cast by a member of the Federal Parliament will be equivalent to 79 votes whereas the weightage of a vote cast by PA will be equivalent to 48 votes.

Arrangements have been made to count the votes shortly after voting, said Sharma.

“The vote count will take place shortly after voting. We have made arrangements to publish the poll results by 6 pm the same day.”

The Electoral College comprises members of both Houses (the House of Representatives and the National Assembly) and the provincial assemblies. The Federal Parliament has a total of 332 members, and the provincial assemblies 550. Article 67 of the Constitution of Nepal  has a provision for a vice president in the country. The vice president shall be assigned to look after the state affairs in the absence of the president, according to the constitution. The tenure of the vice president will be of five years.

This is the third vice presidential election since the country adopted a republic system in 2008.

Paramananda Jha was elected the first vice president of Nepal.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 − eleven =