Indu Barma Named Captain for Women’s T20 Series in Hong Kong

Indu Barma has been named as the captain of the Nepali Women’s cricket team for the upcoming four-nation Women T20 Series set to take place in Hong Kong. This decision marks a significant change in leadership as Rubina Chhetri, who has held the captaincy for a considerable period, will step aside for this particular series.

A spokesperson from the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) revealed that Indu Barma’s captaincy is a temporary assignment specifically for the four-nation Women T20 Series in Hong Kong. However, the CAN official hinted that if Indu proves her mettle during this series, she might have the opportunity to continue as the captain.

The much-anticipated series is scheduled to run from November 15th to 19th and will feature the host nation, Hong Kong, along with the United Arab Emirates, Nepal, and Malaysia. Cricket enthusiasts from these countries are eagerly awaiting the thrilling matches and the debut of Indu Barma as captain.

CAN had initially left fans in suspense by not announcing the captain’s name earlier this week, but this unexpected twist in leadership has added an element of excitement and intrigue to the upcoming tournament.

The 22-member Nepali Women’s Team for the four-nation Women T20 Series includes notable players such as Rubina Chhetri, Puja Mahato, Sita Rana Magar, Bindu Rawal, Sangita Rai, Jyoti Pandey, Roma Thapa, and Ishwori Bista. Additionally, the team comprises talented individuals like Samjhana Khadka, Rubu Podar, Sabnam Rai, Kabita Joshi, Ashmina Karmacharya, Khusi Dangol, Kritika Marasini, Kanchan Shrestha, Soni Pakhrin, Somu Bista, Apsari Begam, Kajol Shrestha, and Manisha Chaudhary.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *