Ram Sahay Yadav elected as Nepal’s third Vice President

Ram Sahay Yadav, Janata Samajbadi Party leader from Nepal’s Madhes region, has been elected the third Vice President of the country.

A total of 829 votes were cast in the vice-presidential election held on Friday.

Yadav defeated Ashta Laxmi Shakya of the CPN-UML and Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party.

Yadav secured 30,328 votes from 184 federal and 329 provincial lawmakers. Besides his own party, Nepali Congress, CPN-Maoist Centre, and CPN-Unified Socialist voted for him.

Shakya received votes from 104 federal and 169 provincial lawmakers. Likewise, Jha secured votes from 23 federal and 15 provincial lawmakers.

This was the third vice presidential election since the country adopted the federal democratic republic system in 2008.

The tenure of the Vice President is five years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four + four =