T20 WC Final: England won the toss and opt to bowl first against Pakistan

England have won the toss and opted to bowl first against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday (today).

The match will commence soon.

Remaining confident after the toss, Pakistan skipper Babar Azam said the team is aiming to keep the momentum going — that it attained after winning four consecutive matches.

Babar noted that had he won the toss, he would have also opted to bowl first.

“We’ll try to put runs on the board and put pressure on [England]. The way the team is playing is outstanding,” he added.

England captain Jos Buttler said he opted to bowl first because of the weather.

“Huge game, good nerves, good energy around the team and in the stadium,” Buttler said at the toss. “Both teams in red-hot form, looks a good wicket, a bit of weather around which is why we bowled first.”

Both sides are unchanged for the final match of the multi-nation tournament.

Playing XI
Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

England: Jos Buttler (c/wk), Alex Hales, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *